Home   EYFS


The New early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS goals and milestones are made up of specific and prime areas of learning and development. They set out what are expected levels of attainment for the child by the end of the foundation stage (reception class). The room has defined learning areas providing space for key groups to work closely together, with free flow access to the outdoors.

The separate library room provides the children with a rich learning environment to aid the child’s development.

The children will learn advance techniques such as Jolly Phonics System and letters and sounds to develop language and literacy skills and is consistent with the methods and techniques used within schools.

The EYFS is the regulatory and quality framework for the provision for learning, development and care for children between birth and the academic year in which they turn five (0-5).

The EYFS sets the standards for early year’s providers to reflect and offer the high, rich and individual care and experience which parents provide at home.

The EYFS Principles are based on 3 key themes:

  • A unique child – Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  • Positive relationships – Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and carers.
  • Enabling environments – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s learning and development.

Characteristics of Learning:

Characteristics of learning are defined into three areas. Playing and exploring, Active learning,Creating and thinking critically.

The EYFS now consists of 3 Prime Learning Areas:

  • Personal, social and emotional development (PSED)
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development (PD)

4 Specific Areas of Development

Literacy – Reading and Writing

Mathematics – numbers, shapes, space and measure

Understanding of the world – People and communities, the world,technology

Expressive arts and design. Exploring and using media,materials and being imaginative

The New EYFS statutory requirements are:

  • Welfare and safety of children is paramount, safeguarding policies should be regularly reviewed and implemented in the setting.
  • Parents should be kept up to date with what their children are doing and be encouraged to get involved as much as possible.
  • Each child should be allocated a key member of staff and should be encouraged but allowed to develop at their own pace and in their own way.
  • Staff are to be highly qualified and trainied.
  • Regular training courses are to be completed by all staff
  • along with a 2 year assessment of development.